40th National Youth Jazz Competition Award Winners :

SOUNZ Trophy - Best Performance of a New Zealand Composition: Auckland Grammar School


Best of Festival Trophy - Most outstanding jazz band – Pukekohe High School Stage Band


New Orleans Trophy – Most Outstanding Big Band – Pukekohe High School Stage Band


Big Band Gold Award – Tauranga Boys’ College, Trident High Big Band, Orewa College Jazz Band, Pukekohe High School Stage Band


Big Band Silver Award – Bethlehem College Jazz Band, Auckland Grammar Big Band, Tauranga Girls’ College, Hillcrest High School Jazz Band, Avondale College Big Band


Best Jazz Combo – Norman Family Trophy – Lynfield College Jazz Combo


Combo Gold Award – Blend (Tauranga Girls College), Wellington High School Jazz Band, Haphazard (Auckland Grammar School), Lynfield College Jazz Combo, Avondales Blue Note Combo (Avondale College),


Combo Silver Award – Kai Time (Tauranga Boys’ College), Good Vibes (Western Springs/Rosmini College), PHS Quintet (Pukekohe High School), Dandy (Whangaparaoa College), Mason Jar (Tauranga Boys’ College), Avondale College Jazz Combo


Award for Innovation – Derek Jacombs Trophy : Liam Bewley (Trident High School)


Best Original Composition – Ken Mitchell Trophy : Robin Baek (Auckland Grammar)


Best Saxophonist – Yanagisawa Trophy : Andrew Isdale (Lynfield College)


Most outstanding Bassist – P & S Penman Trophy : Harry Scholes (Western Springs/Rosmini College)


Most outstanding Drummer – Hill/Wilcock Trophy : Lewis Huysmans (Auckland Grammar)


Most outstanding Guitarist – Mayers Music Centre Trophy : James Poss (Avondale College)


Most outstanding keyboard player – Bay City Music Trophy : Elijah Wilson (Auckland Grammar)


Most outstanding pianist – Bill Hoffmeister Trophy : Elijah Wilson (Auckland Grammar)


Most outstanding trombonist – Rodger Fox Trophy : Tina Jeong (Tauranga Girls’ College)


Most outstanding trumpet or flugel – Edwina Thorne Trophy : James MacEwan (Western Springs/Rosmini College)


Most outstanding Big Band drummer – Lauren Ellis Trophy : Ben Frater (Pukekohe High School Stage Band)


Most outstanding vocalist – Dave Feehan Trophy : Kiara Fernandes (Avondale College)


Most outstanding young musician – George Rawiri Trophy : Andrew Isdale (Lynfield College)


Most outstanding clarinettist – Tom Bayliss Trophy : Sam Ashton (Tauranga Boys’ College)


Most outstanding flautist – Errol Christiansen Trophy : Keeson Perkins-Treacher (Wellington High School)




For 40 years the National Youth Jazz Competition has showcased the very best of emerging jazz players from across New Zealand. Over two days Combos and Big Bands from New Zealand Secondary Schools strut their stuff for trophies and awards. Past winners at these competitions include Nathan Haines, Hollie Smith and Matt Penman. This year we have two international judges on our judging panel (Matt Harris, renowned educator and current co-director of Jazz Studies at California State University Northridge, and Dewayne Pate Bassist with Robben Ford, Boz Scaggs). Head judge is Dr Rodger Fox. Stage performances will be streamed live on YouTube so you can follow the competition where ever you are - follow us on Facebook and Instagram.

Watch out for our World Masters of Jazz and Funk Workshop on Thursday night – hear our overseas judges talk and show you techniques to play contemporary grooves. TICKETS $10 (free for competitors) Thursday 13 APRIL 7pm at Baycourt Community & Arts Centre.

PRIZEGIVING: Friday 14 April 4.30pm - 5.30pm features a cameo performance by University of Auckland Jazz students

BONUS 40th Anniversary Exhibition
Make sure you check out our exhibition celebrating the 40th Anniversary of the National Youth Jazz Competition! On display in the Baycourt foyer from 3 April through to the end of the Festival. Themed ‘Dedication & Winning’ the exhibition will provide a visual journey of the band leaders and participants who have been part of our 40 year competition history.



Date: Date: Thursday, 13 April 2017 – Combos
Time: 9.00am – 4.30pm approximately
Date: Friday, 14 April 2017 – Big Bands & Prize Giving
Time: 9.00am – 5.30pm approximately (Prize Giving 4.30pm – 5.30pm)


General Admission Full Day Pass: $19*
General Admission Half Day Pass: $12*
Children 12 and under: FREE
Venue: Baycourt – Addison Theatre
Get Directions: load Map
* Service Fee Apply